Keynote speakers

The symposium offers world class keynote lectures from experts in architectural research:

Peter MacKeith is, since 2014, dean and professor of architecture at the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas. MacKeith is a recognized design educator and administrator. From 1999 to 2014, he was associate dean, professor of architecture and adjunct associate curator for Architecture and Design at the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis. MacKeith was the director of the Master of Architecture – International Program at the Helsinki University of Technology Finland from 1995-1999, and he held previous academic appointments at the University of Virginia and Yale University. MacKeith is currently overseeing the design and construction of the Anthony Timberlands Center for Design and Materials Innovation, a regional center for research and development of new wood products and new approaches in sustainable construction materials. He is the author or editor of 10 books and has served as editor or editorial board member of several journals. Since receiving a Fulbright Fellowship to Finland in 1990, MacKeith has worked as a liaison between the architecture, art and design cultures of the United States, Finland and the Nordic region. He has written and lectured extensively on modern and contemporary Finnish and Nordic architecture.

Photo: Thomas Delley.

Marilyne Andersen is Full Professor at EPFL and Head of the LIPID Laboratory. With a background in physics, she conducts research on performance as a driver for design, with an emphasis on daylight in buildings. She was a tenure-track professor at MIT from 2004 to 2010 and was Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at EPFL from 2013 to 2018. Author of over 200 refereed scientific papers with several distinctions, she was the inaugural laureate of the Daylight Research Award in 2016 and led the winning Swiss team for the US Solar Decathlon 2017 competition.

David Chapman is Associate Senior Lecturer at Luleå University of Technology, Sweden. Chapman graduated Master of Architecture from Glasgow University and completed a Master of Philosophy in Town Planning at University College London. There, Chapman was part of the design team for Foster & Partners 1st prize winning concept plan competition for West Kowloon, Hong Kong. Subsequently, he worked for leading design practices, Koetter Kim & Associates (USA) and Urban Initiatives (UK). Chapman completed his PhD in Architecture at Luleå University of Technology (2018) and focuses on the design of cold climate settlements that experience signifi cant seasonal climate variation in a context of rapid climate change. He has co-authored two books and seven high-level research articles within the field of urbanism.

Thordis Arrhenius is Associate Professor at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. Arrhenius is an architect and architectural researcher with a strong engagement in contemporary architectural and urban practice and their theories. Her teaching and research is characterised by a dedication to contemporary critical issues in heritage and urbanism where the historical perspective informs actions and strategies. Arrhenius’ research interests concern the exhibition of architecture in mass culture, the relation between architecture and the museum, and the curatorial aspects of preservation. Recent research projects investigate the role of the architectural exhibition in the reception of modern architecture in Scandinavia, the historiography of conservation, and the strategy of alteration and its architectural and theoretical implications. Under the working title Restoring the Welfare State she is at present developing a cross-disciplinary project on the welfare-state, its cultures, politics, materials and agents, that aims, through study the ‘making’ of the welfare state, to contribute to the understanding of how the material heritage from the post-war period today is valued.